Commonwealth Courts

This page is being updated. Please check back soon.

Commonwealth level judgements are created after either an appeal from a local court in a member nation of the British Commonwealth, or after initiation by a citizen, organisation, institution or body of the Commonwealth.

The court system of the British Commonwealth (BC) is composed of the five highest courts, the 12 general courts, the specialised courts in specific areas, and the tribunal.

Commonwealth courts ensure that the interpretation and application of Commonwealth law, citizen rights, the constitution of the British Commonwealth and the principles of a creative society is observed in line with the highest standard of human rights and freedoms.

All judges and justices of the Commonwealth have life tenure.